Create a DynamoDB Table

From @jayair on Mon Apr 10 2017 00:57:28 GMT+0000 (UTC)

Link to chapter - http://serverless-stack.com/chapters/create-a-dynamodb-table.html

Copied from original issue: https://github.com/AnomalyInnovations/serverless-stack-com/issues/15

From @grantgarland on Sat Jun 03 2017 18:49:36 GMT+0000 (UTC)

Should the partition and sort id’s be of type “number” rather than “string”?

From @jayair on Mon Jun 05 2017 00:24:20 GMT+0000 (UTC)

@SlovaDev Both the user id and note id are uuid strings in our case.

From @grantgarland on Mon Jun 05 2017 00:37:46 GMT+0000 (UTC)

Ok, thanks for the clarification. I’m new to the world of AWAS but really enjoying the serverless stack tutorial.

From @tschmidleithner on Fri Sep 22 2017 08:37:23 GMT+0000 (UTC)

Since serverless-stack.com updated to AWS_IAM auth, a row in a DynamoDB table contains a HASHKEY of the cognitoIdentityId to link a user to a specific table entry now. I think before migrating to AWS_IAM, the HASHKEY for a table row was context.authorizer.claims.sub, right?

The point is that I don’t see a chance now to use AWS specific fine-grained access control to restrict access to a table row only to a user who has a specific cognitoIdentityId, e.g.:
With context.authorizer.claims.sub it was possible to securely restrict access to a DynamoDB table for a user with a condition on the DynamoDB resource with dynamodb:LeadingKeys. Now, without storing the context.authorizer.claims.sub as HASHKEY I think it is not possible anymore to restrict access to DynamoDB tables for a specific AWS_IAM authenticated user only, is that correct? At least I did not find a substituation variable for cognitoIdentityId. It would be good to restrict access as mentioned before from a security point of view.

(Btw I want to thank you for this comprehensive serverless tutorial!)

From @jayair on Fri Sep 22 2017 20:52:55 GMT+0000 (UTC)